SPRINGFIELD, Ill .– Thirty Illinois Army National Guard Soldiers graduated from the 129th Regiment Officer Candidate School (Regional Training Institute) Aug. 22, completing the leadership and military training requirements to be appointed officers of the United States Army. Of these soldiers, 26 were appointed second lieutenants in the Illinois Army National Guard and the US Army. Four graduates of the program decided to “poach” their commissions and seek federal recognition as officers at a later date.
The Illinois National Guard Officer Candidate School transforms enlisted NCOs and skilled civilians into officers of the United States Army. Future leaders complete over 661 hours of classroom and field instruction, must meet U.S. Army commissioning standards, and be reviewed and approved by a Federal Recognition Board. Two OCS classes graduated on August 22, class 65-20 and class 66-21. The ceremony took place at the Hoogland Center for the Arts in Springfield, Illinois.
The newly appointed second lieutenants are:
• 2nd Lieutenant Timothy Eychner of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Christian Garcia of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Jason Grover of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Patrick LeBlanc of Glen Carbon
• 2nd Lieutenant Matthew Lodwich of Palos Park
• 2nd Lieutenant Eduardo Rodriguez d’Elgin
• 2nd Lieutenant Carlos Romero of Springfield
• 2nd Lieutenant Connor Rutherford of Macomb
• 2nd Lieutenant Arlene Santiago of Wisconsin
• 2nd Lieutenant Daniel Chamblin d’O’Fallon
• 2nd Lieutenant Joshua Furbeck of Auburn
• 2nd Lieutenant Christopher Garibay of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Adrian Hernandez of South Elgin
• 2nd Lieutenant Angel Hernandez-Rendon of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Spencer Kiesewetter of Farmington
• 2nd Lieutenant Michael Koenig of Glen Ellyn
• 2nd Lieutenant Uri Kuyoro of Country Club Hills
• 2nd Lieutenant Devin Luton of Carbondale
• 2nd Lieutenant Adrian Martinez of Northlake
• 2nd Lieutenant Ryan McKennedy of Chatham
• 2nd Lieutenant Brady Middleton of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Giovanni Ortega of Chicago
• 2nd Lieutenant Christopher Peters of Highland
• 2nd lieutenant Hector Rios d’Aurora
• 2nd Lieutenant Vincent Thomas of Dunlap
• 2nd Lieutenant Brandon Urquidi of Plainfield

Graduates who choose to “hip-pocket” their commissions and seek federal recognition as officers of the military at a later date are:
• Timothy Jefferson of Mattoon
• Jodaney Johnson of Skokie
• Justin Wise of Oswego
• Seth Knopp from Cape Giradeau, Missouri

Justin Wise from Oswego received the Erickson Award as a Distinguished Honorary Graduate of the 65-20 class. 2nd Lt. Devin Luton of Carbondale received the Erickson Award as a Distinguished Honorary Graduate of the 66-21 class. Other honorary graduates included 2nd Lt. Connor Rutherford of Macomb, 2nd Lt. Timothy Eychner of Chicago, 2nd Lt. Joshua Furbeck of Auburn and 2nd Lt. Adrian Martinez of Northlake. Jodaney Johnson of Skokie, Timothy Jefferson of Mattoon, 2nd Lt. Connor Rutherford of Macomb, 2nd Lt. Arlene Santiago of Wisconsin and 2nd Lt. Devin Luton of Carbondale took top honors for their leadership scores and Justin Wise of Oswego and Joshua Furbeck of Carbondale Auburn have won honors for their academic grades.

Date taken: 08/22/2021
Date posted: 03.09.2021 20:45
Story ID: 404538
Site: SPRINGFIELD, Illinois, United States

Web Views: 14
Downloads: 0


Source link

About Joaquin Robertson

Joaquin Robertson

Check Also

DVIDS – News – Salaknib ’21; United States and Philippine Army strengthen partnership

Fort Magsaysay, PHILIPPINES – Approximately 60 soldiers from the U.S. Army Pacific Command, led by …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *